2006 Conference Highlights


Nearly 900 people from across the state came to Albany October 23-25 to attend the Cerebral Palsy Associations of New York State (CP of NYS) Annual Conference to exchange ideas and view new technologies affecting the lives of people with disabilities. Jan Moss, Director of Community Leadership and Advocacy, for the Center for Learning and Leadership, University Center for Excellence on Developmental Disabilities, OUHSC College of Medicine delivered a high-energy and insightful Keynote Address to more than 300 attendees, setting the tone for the entire conference.

This year’s conference entitled “Decades of Dedication,” included nearly 50 sessions and meetings dealing with a wide range of issues and included a celebration of the organization’s 60th anniversary. The CP of NYS Annual Banquet on Monday evening featured a live and recorded presentation of some of the highlights of the first 60 years of the organization. Natalie Rogers and Robert DiFrancesco, Past Presidents of the CP of NYS Board of Directors served as Emcees for the evening and led the more than 450 people in attendance through an evening filled with video presentations, slides and live music. The next night nearly 60 employees from 20 Affiliates and CP of NYS were honored for outstanding service at the Celebrate Staff Dinner.

More than 20 vendors displayed products and services for people with disabilities on Tuesday, October 24. There was also a display of artwork submitted by consumers from across the state for the third annual Visions of New York Consumer Art Contest. A full-color poster with all 18 pieces of original art was displayed and sold at the conference. Mary Whalen, of Staten Island and United Cerebral Palsy of New York City (UCP/NYC) was chosen as CP of NYS Artist of the Year in the 2006 contest. Posters are still available by calling the Affiliate Services Office.

The 2007 CP of NYS Annual Conference is scheduled for October 22-24. The event will be hosted by The Desmond Hotel and Conference Center in Albany for the 17th consecutive year.












New CP of NYS Board of Directors Chairwoman Idajean Windell (left) with outgoing Board Chairman James Johansen at the 60th Anniversary Dinner. CP of NYS Founder Nina Eaton addressing attendees of the 60th Anniversary Dinner
The CP of NYS Chorus performed under the direction of Natalie Rogers (left). Chorus members are, from left to right: Front row – Joanne Maviglia, Sara Wall-Bollinger, Tara Cherry, Angela Carotenuto and Back row – Ed Matthews, Brian Klafehn and Jerry Staller. Tony Thanopoulos (right) is congratulated by Robert DiFrancesco and Ann LeMark of the CP of NYS Board of Directors after being presented with the Elks Award.
Louis Tehan, Michael Parker, Patrick Dollard and Roger Sibley (left to right) receive the “Seasoned Turks” award at the 60th Anniversary Dinner. Nancy Kong from Aspire of Western New York (second from right), Janina Jensen (Cp of NYS-Metro Services) and Matthew Calautti from the Center for Disability Services (at microphone) say thank you to retiring OMRDD Commissioner Thomas Maul, who attended the 60th Anniversary Dinner.
  Click here to see the Conference Brochure - (445kb)

August 2006 Spotlight (138 kb)

Erin McGlynn (right) from Cerebral Palsy of Westchester and Joe Marin (HCA of Southern New York) were among nearly 60 staff members from 20 Affiliates honored at the Celebrate Staff dinner on Tuesday night.   
Use the link to the right to download Adobe Acrobat Reader.