2012 Conference Highlights


More than 800 people from across the state attended nearly 50 educational presentations and meetings October 21-24 at the Cerebral Palsy Associations of New York State Annual Conference in Saratoga Springs.

Micah Kellner and John Kemp

Micah Kellner (left) with John Kemp

New York State Assembly Member Micah Kellner was the featured Luncheon Speaker on October 22. His remarks on his experiences as a person with cerebral palsy were delivered to more than 350 attendees. Other featured speakers at the event included Commissioner Courtney Burke, NYS Office for People With Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD) and NYS Medicaid Director Jason Helgerson; John McPherson, creator of the internationally distributed newspaper cartoon “Close To Home” and Jesse Saperstein, a best-selling author, autism advocate and leader of the anti-bullying movement.

HCA employees

A group from HCA enjoys a moment
at the Annual Awards Dinner

Commissioner Burke and Medicaid Director Helgerson discussed their priorities in the year ahead for OPWDD and provided an update on the future of Medicaid funding in New York State. John McPherson weaved some of his one-panel cartoons into his presentation on humor in the work place and stress in everyday life.

Jesse Saperstein offered an entertaining and enlightening look at life as an adult on the autism spectrum. His 90-minute presentation included many humorous and poignant examples of the issues faced by people with similar challenges.

The conference also included two awards dinners honoring and highlighting the contributions and accomplishments of many individuals and organizations from around the state. 

  Sundram award photo

Clarence Sundram (2nd from right) receives
Public Service Award from Natalie Rogers (L)
Susan Constantino and Robert DiFrancesco.


Elks photo

CP of NYS Board Members Ernest Southworth, James Peace and Dr. Joseph Dutkowsy (L to R) congratulate Elks Award Recipient Paul Galarneau at Annual Awards Dinner.


Mark your calendar. The 2013 CP of NYS Annual Conference is scheduled for October 21-23.




CP of NYS Journal 2012




 Rochester winners         CP Rochester Staff Award Winners Kimberly Miller (L) and Heidi Schuster with President/CEO Brian Klafehn

 irwin Siegal agency inc
Jawonio winners  Jawonio Staff Award winnersMarquis Julien, Karen Genua and Marissa Nardis (L to R)
 BDO logo
  NU Concept Food Services
Participating Sponsors

 Comet logo


   Ross Daniel logo
Staff winners Center for Disability Services Staff Award recipients Jami Gras (Left), Daphne Moore and Michael Thornton
   surehands logo
   NY Bus logo
  Focused Wealth Management